top of page

[MAKING UNIT 2] Another way to open a drawer

Updated: May 31, 2023

Key word : 01 Movable mechanical structure

Project name : <Another way to open a drawer>


Most of the drawers have the handles in the front position, I tried to have the handles in unexpected places such as above, on the sides and at the bottom. This allows the drawer to be opened with other movements and gives the user a fresh experience.


(1)

Sketches


(2)

Process

I found a metal frame at the dump and made drawers out of discarded wooden boards.


(3)

Problems

How can the handles on the sides and top be made easier for the user to apply force?

Can the handles be recycled from discarded furniture or made of other materials?


(4)

Research Supplements


Lucie Rie's handles

She made a lot of handles and buttons with brighten color,and Organic shapes.



https://www.yorkartgallery.org.uk/exhibition/lucie-rie-ceramics-and-buttons/


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection of unit 2

Make quicker test in a simple material I should know who is my user and market I should narrow the scope of my topic , get more knowledge...

Comments


bottom of page