top of page

[MAKING UNIT 2] Wake up when you open the door 2

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

1.Design of interactive objects

Designing the bottom in a shape that would otherwise stand up would allow it to fall down more smoothly.

Bottom material should be hard :wood ? Aluminium?


The internal design of some winding spools allows for double plywood to hide the trajectory of the starting line.



2.Further research


Locomotion Table by Vendulka Prchalová

The wild-looking legs on Vendulka Prchalová’s ‘Locomotion’ table can be adjusted to your liking to change the angle of the surface and the overall silhouette of the piece. More a work of art than a functional object, it has either four or six twistable, bendable legs that can give it the look of anything from a deer bucking a human to a mythical beast.


Animorfia by Toot Chen

Considering they generally have four legs instead of two, tables are riper for comparison to animals than humans, as the series ‘Animorfia’ by Toot Chen shows. Rotating table legs with bending knees become figurative “by way of interaction motion & posture.”

" Weil told Dezeen. "The purpose is to explain about my career and my thoughts about design so the focus is really on process, on trying to explain the things people don't see about design, the amount of work that goes into creating things and how to develop as a designer. I've done this for 33 years so I have a sort of perspective that hasn't really changed since I graduated."

Similarly to the Clock for an Architect, the new timepieces are configured in unusual ways with the battery and mechanism clearly separated and connected by stainless steel wires.

"This new group [of clocks] tries to address how we relate now to machines and to instruments," Weil explained. "The clock has been so conventionally arranged behind the face and the identical quartz movement that's been around since the 1970s so I wanted to create this relationship between the movement and the power source."


He changed the shape of the clock

Instead of trying to hide those structures, he chose to zoom in and show them to the audience. The lines were also very rhythmic, so I also started to think about whether I needed to actually hide my structural lines.



3.Making

Aluminium bottom







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection of unit 2

Make quicker test in a simple material I should know who is my user and market I should narrow the scope of my topic , get more knowledge...

Comments


bottom of page